Intoxicating Thoughts…

Ephesians 5:18 “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit;”

Intoxicating thoughts…what are you filled with?

There was a blurb on Facebook; you know, one of those picture apps that everyone (including me at times) loves to post. It said, “Drunk words are sober thoughts.”

That really…really gave me a pause for thought there. Because…you know, it is true. When people drink, there is a tendency to say exactly what comes to mind, regardless of whether it is in the best interest of either party. That is why it is said that alcohol releases your inhibitions; it allows you to give freedom to thoughts, words and actions that would not normally ever come to fruition.

Now, I took it a step further because indeed, “Intoxicating words are sober thoughts.”

Intoxication carries the definition of:

1. drunkenness; inebriation
2. great elation
3. the act of intoxicating
4. (Medicine) poisoning

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

Or, in another dictionary:

1. Stupefaction or excitement by the action of a chemical substance.
2. Exhilaration, excitement, or euphoria.
3. Poisoning by a drug or toxic substance.

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2009. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

Notice #2 on both of those lists? “Great elation, exhilaration, excitement or euphoria.” To me, that means we can be intoxicated by more than just an alcoholic beverage or chemical substance…we can be intoxicated by:

  1. Pride.
  2. Foolishness.
  3. Anger.
  4. Bitterness.
  5. Lust.
  6. covetousness (greed).
  7. Money.
  8. Power.
  9. Hatred.
  10. God.
  11. Love.
  12. Joy.
  13. Giving.
  14. Mercy.

The list could go on forever but I think you get my drift. We can be intoxicated by anything that grabs hard a hold of us and makes us act differently than we would if that presence wasn’t in our lives. If I am consumed by anger (#3), then what comes out of my mouth is angry words, attitudes that are probably out of control at times, and more often than not, ones that are not applicable to current circumstances or situations. This isn’t righteous anger (Ephesians 4:26 “Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath:”)  or even a sinful anger that flares up for an instant and then fades into nothingness.

This is an anger that actually causes an euphoric feeling in us, an excitement that we are letting it all hang out because (in our minds) we are entitled to let this feeling grow, consume us, overtake us and eventually burn us and all our bridges as we go forth.

Been there? Oh, have I struggled with letting emotions rule my day and ruin my relationships and my life! I look at Ephesians 5:18 again and I can fill in the first part of that verse with many words that are on the list…


“Be not drunk with anger…”

“Be not drunk with lust…”

“Be not drunk with pride…”

                         …but be filled with the Spirit:”

Most have heard that what goes into your mind and heart is what comes out. Think about it…if you are diligently reading, studying, and meditating on the Word of God and it is the meat and drink for your mind, soul and spirit day in and day out then that is what will come out…in how you speak, in how you act…in your relationships with others, with God and with yourself. Truly, God never intended for you to keep all that wisdom and knowledge, learned from His Word and from personal experience, all to yourself anyway. We are to edify, lift up and encourage others…always (Ephesians 4:29 “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.”). (See also:1 Thessalonians 5:11; Ephesians 4:16; Ephesians 4:12; 1 Corinthians 14:26; Romans 14:19) http://www.biblegateway.com/quicksearch/?quicksearch=edify&qs_version=KJV

The world bombards us daily with false reasonings as to why we should be able to act out exactly how we feel. Feelings frankly often scare me because feelings are really a choice. I can choose to feel angry or hurt or I can choose to put that away; to give it to God and go back to the mindset that Christ Jesus has put in me (Philippians 2:5 “Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:”).

Jesus put on love…He was exhilarated, elated and excited to show us, these sinful beings, love…mercy…grace! When we wear the Armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18), we have to put it on. When we wear love or mercy for others, we first have to put it on (or in as the case may be) in order to give it out…giving to others what Christ gave to us – freely with no strings attached. If we don’t “put on Jesus” everyday, then many times what we give out has strings attached because well…emotions need to be fed, reciprocated to feel complete in us. Un-reciprocated emotion tends to feel like (wait for it!)…rejection. 😦

I am striving each day to be intoxicated with the Word of God…to be excited about giving, being joyful, loving (even myself). I want to be driven by the Word to do what Jesus would have me do to and for others. As I write these words, I have hope in Him that one day, this would be a consistent path in my life. As someone who still struggles with the flesh (constantly it seems) I see myself intoxicated with those others things more than I care too but I’m not where I once was – Praise the Lord for that!

So, enough about me…“What do you find yourself intoxicated with these days?”

Till next time…faithwalkin’ 🙂

6 thoughts on “Intoxicating Thoughts…

Leave a Reply

