Realizations…

But I have trusted in Thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in Thy salvation. I will sing unto the Lord, because He hath dealt bountifully with me.                    – Psalm 13:5-6

Who am I to judge what is considered ‘bountiful’ in the Lord’s eyes? As most know, what we think about things and what the Lord thinks about things are two different matters entirely. In effect, I think that as humans we have tunnel vision when we think about anything…it all boils down to how it affects us and our lives as we know it. Even things that happen in another country, seemingly removed from our ken completely, can evolve into a personal thought process, “I couldn’t do that” or “I hope that doesn’t happen here because I like my life the way it is.”

I think of Paul in Philippians when he speaks of how the Lord has taught Him to be content,

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.        Philippians 4:11-12 (KJV)

The world today seems to go with the theory that if you don’t have enough “Stuff” so that it comes out of your ears, then you are underprivileged in some way. I am starting to pray the Lord’s Word back to Him during my closet time and I believe that as I grasp the bountiful aspect in my relationship with my Lord, my heart will expand as well as my giving. I am so looking forward to grasping each lesson He teaches.

I will leave you with a poem by Samuel Wilberforce:

Just For Today

Lord, for tomorrow and it’s needs

I do not pray;

Keep me from any stain of sin

Just for today:

Let me both diligently work

And duly pray;

Let me be kind in word and deed

Just for today,

Let me be slow to do my will –

Prompt to obey:

Help me to sacrifice myself

Just for today.

Let me no wrong or idle word

Unthinkingly say –

Set Thou seal upon my lips,

Just for today.

So for tomorrow and it’s needs

I do not pray,

But keep me, guide me, hold me, Lord –

Just for today.

Till next time –

Faithwalkin’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

